Missy Barrett's Adventures

The amazing adventures of a fictional child

Making Up Jokes and Telling Them

on September 25, 2019

I like to make up jokes, and I love puns especially the most.  Sometimes my jokes are superly funny, but sometimes they are so superly funny that my brothers don’t get them.  That’s what happened to me way earlier this week when I was telling my brand new, hot off the press, new jokes to my big brother Josh.  Here’s what happened.

“Hey, Josh, what kind of alcohol does a cow drink?”

“I don’t know.”

“Mooooooooooo-nshine.”

Then I waited for him to laugh, but he didn’t.   So I told him my next joke.

“Why did the cow leave the comedy show early?” I asked him.

“I don’t know.”

“Because he cud not take the jokes anymore.”

Josh groaned.

“Bulls are really great drivers. Wanna know how come?” I asked.  I didn’t wait for Josh to say “I don’t know.”  I just told him.  “Because they know how to steer.”

Josh gave me a weird look, probably because I was laughing at that joke for being so crazy funny.

“Okay, now tell me this,” I kept on going, “How can you tell if a cow is from Hoboken?”

“I don’t know.”

“His birth certificate says he’s a Jersey.”

When he forgot to laugh again, I said, “The cow’s birth certificate?  A baby cow just born is new.  You know New Jersey?  Hoboken?”

Josh gave me that look grown-ups sometimes get except he’s only half grown-up, and he rolled his eyes.  I don’t know why because these were superly hilarious Missy Barrett jokes.  I didn’t even tell him the jokes I didn’t think weren’t any good to tell.  But you know, sometimes big brothers just do things like that when they think jokes are funny but it’s not cool to laugh at them because they’re teenagers.  I know because my mom sometimes asks him if he’s too busy being a cool teenager to laugh at her jokes, so probably that’s the same reason for him not laughing at my jokes.

“Okay, how about this?  What did the one cow say to the other when she was bragging about stuff?”

“I don’t know.”

“Bully for you.”  And then I laughed a really loud belly laugh so he’d know that was the punch line, except I was the only one laughing.

“Bully for you?” I repeated.  “You know, like what Grandpa Barrett sometimes says to people when he’s not impressed with their bragging, and a boy cow is a bull, so you know, bully for you.  Cows.  Bulls.  Bragging.”  Then I laughed again really, really hard, but Josh didn’t even crack a smile.

“Missy,” he said to me, “just because you find your jokes funny doesn’t mean other people are going to find them funny.  I’m one of those people.  Those jokes aren’t funny to me.  Maybe they’ll be crazy hilarious at school tomorrow, but they totally are not working for me when I hear them.”

“They’re puns, Josh,” I explained so he would know they weren’t grown-up style jokes.  They were kid style jokes and me being a kid, those are the kinds of jokes I always make up.  They’re funny to kids because we don’t have to worry about making them what my mom calls sophisticated humor.  They’re good old regular kid funny.

Anyway, I don’t think I’m going to get too far with Josh when it comes to trying my jokes out on someone, so I’m going to tell those jokes and some new ones I’m working on tomorrow to my other brother, Aaron.  I’m pretty sure Aaron is going to laugh, mostly because he has a great sense of humor (and plus, he’s not a teenager any more so he knows funny when he hears something funny).  That’s what he says.  He says his friends all say he has the best sense of humor ever.  I’ll let you guys know on my Facebook page how Aaron reacts when he hears all my cow jokes.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.