Missy Barrett's Adventures

The amazing adventures of a fictional child

Once In A Lifetime Events

So in the middle of the night, Sali Dali Cat was in my bedroom making a whole lot of noise because sometimes cats just do that for no reason at all.  Sometimes it’s for a reason so when my cat woke me up, I figured I should check to see if maybe mom forgot to fill up the water dish for Sali Dali Cat and Oreo Speedwagon before she went to bed.  So I got up, put on my house-coat, and went downstairs to the kitchen to check.  It was superly late (I know because the clock on the stove said it was 2:35 in the morning) and really dark out.

I just finished putting fresh water in the water dish for the kitty cats (mostly because if I was already up I figured I should just do that so it was nice and cold for them in case they needed a drink) when Aaron came home.  Sometimes on Friday nights, him and his friends go out together and he gets to be the destination driver.  He doesn’t drink alcohol or beer when he goes out with his friends, so that makes him the destination driver because he makes sure they get back home safe and sound with zero zip car accidents.

Anyway, he said, “Hey Missy!  How come you’re up so late?” and I told him about Sali Dali Cat bugging me awake.  Then he said, “How about we go out on the back porch and look at the stars?” and I said okay because I was thinking maybe he wanted to talk about something important before going to bed.  Maybe he met this really cute girl when he was out and he wanted me to be the first to know about it.  So we went out on the back porch.

We were just kind of standing around, staring at the sky, when all of a sudden I saw this bright streak of light go across the sky.  It was blue with a orange tail and a little light yellow and white around it.  It didn’t last long.  Just kind of blink-of-an-eye fast and it was gone.

“Woah!  Did you see that?” Aaron said.

“That was beautiful!” I said.

“That was a fireball.”

“A fireball?”

“That’s what astronomers call a really bright meteor,” Aaron explained, “and Missy, they’re so rare that the chances of seeing one is like once in a lifetime.”

“No way!”  I was so excited.  Here it was the middle of the night and I was awake when I’m usually asleep, and me and my big brother got to see the same once-in-a-lifetime fireball meteor shooting across our backyard, and it was all because Sali Dali Cat woke me up and I listened.  Maybe Sali Dali Cat didn’t want any water.  Maybe he woke me up because he had a feeling that there was going to be a once-in-a-lifetime fireball meteor streaking across the sky in our backyard, and he didn’t want me to miss it.  I just love that cat so much!

After we saw the once-in-a-lifetime fireball meteor in our backyard, Aaron and me, we went to bed  (well, Aaron went to bed, and I went back to bed).  When Aaron got up, he checked online to see if we really did see a once-in-a-lifetime fireball meteor.  First Aaron put all kinds of information on the page asking about what we saw on the back porch.  Then after that, the information went into their database.  Here’s what the website said about the once-in-a-lifetime fireball meteor.

Aaron even got a special number to go along with the report he made about it, and that means we can check the website and see what else is going on with the once-in-a-lifetime fireball meteor.  I cannot get over how special this is.  When I called my Grandpa Barrett and told him about it,  he was really impressed (mostly because he’s a science kind of grandpa), and when I called my Grandpa Two Rivers and told him about it, he was really impressed (mostly because he’s a nature kind of grandpa).  So everybody’s impressed and they should be.

I kind of wish I could’ve taken a picture of the once-in-a-lifetime fireball meteor but even if I had my camera with me, I never would’ve been fast enough to take a picture of it.  That’s how fast those once-in-a-lifetime fireball meteors are!

I wonder if Pluto or Jupiter were watching Earth and saw the once-in-a-lifetime fireball meteor, too.  Wouldn’t it be neat to find out that me and Aaron and my two favorite planets saw the same thing at the same time?

Leave a comment »

