Missy Barrett's Adventures

The amazing adventures of a fictional child

Representing Tennessee

on April 7, 2017

I’m sharing another fantastic letter with you guys that has to do with my Relay For Life fundraisers.  This one is from State Representative Andrew Farmer and he’s the Representative for the 17th legislative district.  That’s the district I live in because District 17 has parts of Jefferson and Sevier Counties in it.

State Representative Farmer even lives in Sevierville just like me so maybe someday when I’m somewhere with my mom and brothers and he’s somewhere with his family and it’s the same somewhere, maybe we’ll even get to meet for real!  That would so great I think!

Anyway, Representative Farmer does a lot of important things to help people in Tennessee.  He’s a lawyer so he knows a whole lot about legal things.  That’s probably why he’s the Chair of the House Civil Justice Committee.  That means he’s the lead person on that committee but all the people on the committee are important.

Also, he’s on the committee that’s in charge of the General Assembly Calendar and the rules all the Representatives have to follow.  That’s a good thing to know because that means to me that he likes things to get done right and in a orderly fashion.  My Grandma Barrett likes things to get done in a orderly fashion too so I’m going to tell her that Representative Farmer is on that committee.  She’s going to like hearing that for sure.

And he’s a committee member of the Criminal Justice Committee because civil law and criminal law are two different things.  Like Perry Mason is about criminals and Matlock is about criminals, but  I don’t know of any lawyer shows on television that are about people arguing about stuff and then going to court to get a judge to say who’s right.

But both kinds of law are super important (that’s what my mom told me) so that’s how come we have criminal and civil law.

Representative Farmer is a lot like me because he likes to help people in our community, and lots of people think he’s the right person to do that because they voted for him to be our Representative.  That means lots of people know about all the hard work he already did up to right now and also what’s he’s doing right now, too.

I’m going to write back a thank you letter to Representative Farmer because that’s the right thing to do when someone sends you a letter.  While I’m doing that, I’m going to share the letter he sent me so you can see what he wrote.  It’s so beautiful I’ve been smiling ever since I read it!

 

Leave a Reply

