Missy Barrett's Adventures

The amazing adventures of a fictional child

King-vestigations

on March 15, 2017

Everybody knows that when I grow up, I’m going to be a private eye detective (and plus the Chief of Staff of Artie Q International as well).  That means I have to get my detectiving skills up to snuff so I can be one of the best like Sherlock Holmes was back in the old-fashioned days.

The other day I got to go over to my Grandma and Grandpa Two Rivers’ house to visit and when I got there, my grandpa was playing a game called Solitaire.  It’s a card game and he’s really good at it because he almost always beats the computer version.  Anyway, I watched him play Solitaire when I started to see something very peculiar to my detectiving eye.  There was something about the Kings in the deck that made me think, “Hey, am I seeing what I think I’m seeing?”

The answer was yes.  The Kings are not the same.  I don’t mean that one is the King of Hearts and another is the King of Spades and then there’s the King of Diamonds and finally the King of Clubs.  I mean that when you look at the Kings, they don’t look the same if you take away what their the King of (you know, so they’re just four Kings hanging out together, having fun, and stuff like that).

First let’s look at the King of Spades.

He has a sword in his hand.  He has a crown.  He has very colorful clothes on.  And he has long hair and a beard.

Next let’s look at the King of Clubs.

He has a sword in his hand.  He has a crown.  He has very colorful clothes on.  And he has long hair and a beard.

Then there’s the King of Hearts.

He has a sword (except he looks like he’s getting ready to chop something up like maybe a apple or something like that).  He has a crown.  He has very colorful clothes on.  And he has long hair and a beard.

And finally, there’s the King of Diamonds.

 

He has a axe instead of a sword.  He has a crown.  He has very colorful clothes on.  And he has long hair and a beard.

So maybe you’re thinking that the King of Diamonds is the different one because he has a axe in his hand, not a sword.  But if you think about it, he actually has a weapon just like the other Kings.  But there’s still one King that has something different about him.  Did you figure out which King it is and what’s different?

If you said the King of Hearts, that’s the right answer.  All the other Kings have a mustache but not the King of Hearts.  He has a beard, but no mustache.  My guess is that he’s probably not as old a King as the other three Kings and that’s maybe how come he doesn’t have a mustache.  Maybe I’m wrong, but good detectiving is based on observations and good guesses.  Then you see if your good guesses are right.

My Grandpa Two Rivers said he never noticed the King of Hearts didn’t have a mustache before I pointed it out to him.  Then he said that I was going to be a very good private eye detective when I grow up, because I’m already very good with picking up clues and stuff like that.

 

Leave a Reply

