Missy Barrett's Adventures

The amazing adventures of a fictional child

Busy, Not Late

on November 27, 2016

Okay so maybe I’m also late with getting my blog entry up this week except also I was busy because last week was one of those weeks with lots of activity in it.  For one thing, my Grandma and Grandpa Barrett like Thanksgiving and everything that goes with getting together on Thanksgiving.  For another thing, my Grandma and Grandpa Two Rivers (that’s my Mohawk grandpa) like to celebrate Native American Indian Heritage Month.  That means that last week, there’s was lots and lots of food and fun.

Anyway, my Grandma and Grandpa Barrett invite lots of friends and family over for Thanksgiving.  The boys watch football and stuff like that on television, and if it’s not too cold, they sometimes even go outside and play a fast game of football but not tackle football because my grandma doesn’t want to add going to the hospital to the list of things to do.  The girls don’t watch television so much unless they’re football fans (then they watch that stuff on television with the boys).  Instead we get to do other fun stuff like tasting all the food that’s getting made so it’s perfect when it gets put on the table when it’s time to eat.  My Grandma and Grandpa Two Rivers usually can’t go to my Grandma and Grandpa Barrett’s place for Thanksgiving because they have so much to do for their special get-together day.

The next day, my Grandma and Grandpa Two Rivers invite lots of friends and family over for Native American Indian Heritage Month.  They put a whole month of celebrating into one day.  They do a lot of talking and laughing, and then someone tells stories like “How Eagle First Came To The People” or “Why Turtle Has A Broken Shell.”   One of my grandpa’s friends is Cherokee, and this year he told a story called “Why Rabbit Has A Short Tail.”  I really liked that story a real whole lot.  And just like on Thanksgiving at my other grandparents’ place, pretty much everybody goes in the kitchen and brings out boatloads of food for the table, and we get to eat as much as we want!

So you can see how come I wasn’t on the Internet too much last week because lots has to get done before the two days of eating and having fun, and then lots has to get done after the two days of eating and fun.  Before it’s mostly getting everything ready so things aren’t too crazy on those two days of eating, and after it’s mostly getting everything cleaned up and put back away where it came from in the first place.

Just so you know, that same thing happens in October except that my Grandma and Grandpa Barrett celebrate Columbus Day and my Grandma and Grandpa Two Rivers celebrate Indigenous Peoples’ Day.  On that day, we go to my one set of grandparents for a humongous lunch and then to my other grandparents for a humongous dinner.  Every October, we get to come home from both places with way lots of food we couldn’t finish at their places.  Like enough sometimes for a whole week and that’s good because my mom doesn’t have to worry about what to make for supper or lunch or sometimes even breakfast for that whole week.

But November, there’s not so much food to take home except that both my grandmas make sure we have at least one great big shopping bag full of food in containers.  Josh and Aaron (those are my big brothers) usually polish that off in under two days!

I hope you had a lot of fun last week because I know I did.  Now we’re getting into the Christmas season and that’s four weeks of getting ready for Christmas and that means more food and more fun and more celebrating.  If I’m not on Facebook so much, don’t worry.  I’m not getting tired of Facebook or anything like that.  I’m just going to be superly busy making decorations and putting things up around the house and shopping and making holiday surprises and all that jazz (that’s my Grandpa Barrett’s saying).  See you on Facebook (and here, too) and remember to have fun in December!

Leave a Reply

