Missy Barrett's Adventures

The amazing adventures of a fictional child

They Sure Have Heart!

on October 28, 2016

Just like Ravn Alaska is way up north in Alaska, Southwest Airlines has their Head Office in Dallas, and that’s in Texas.  I was so excited when they sent me a letter saying that they heard I went flying in a 1927 Waco Straight Wing biplane.  But you know what?  My one grandpa told me this great story about Southwest Airlines.  He said it was just a story (that means it’s not true) but it’s still a great story.

He said that a long time ago, people said that Southwest Airlines got thought up on a paper napkin and that the idea was a triangle with three dots.  Each dot was for a different city in Texas: San Antonio, Dallas, and Houston.  And then the people with the napkin said, “Hey, that would be a really good idea to have a airline doing napkin flying.”  Well, I don’t know if that’s exactly what grandpa said they said but that’s kind of what I remember mostly what he said so that’s close enough.

Anyway, it’s a story but it’s a great story, and it makes me think that everybody at Southwest Airlines probably is a whole lot of fun like whoever made up that story.  Here’s what I know that’s true about Southwest Airlines: They wrote me a letter!

dear-missy_southwest-airlines

I’m going to ask my mom if she can get us to go on a trip on Southwest Airlines so I can look in the cockpit and see if they have a lady pilot.  If they do, I’m going to ask if the airplane welcomer person can take a picture of me with the pilot.

I especially like the part of their letter that says they take kids to visit their grandparents.  I’m really lucky because my grandparents don’t live so far away from me, so I don’t have to take a airplane to go see them.  But if I did have to go a long way to see them, Southwest Airlines would take me there and I wouldn’t have to worry because they are superly friendly.

Leave a Reply

