Missy Barrett's Adventures

The amazing adventures of a fictional child

Personal Experience That’s Ace

on October 7, 2016

This week on “To The Letter” I’m sharing a letter from Jamie Beckett that he sent to me on Gmail (I guess that makes a email letter, not a letter).

Mr. Beckett is a pilot and a instructor.  He’s also a weekly columnist for General Aviation News (a superly excellent publication for everyone that needs to know important stuff about all things aviation) and a ambassador for AOPA (that stands for the Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association).  And plus, he’s also a author.

My mom looked up his books and he already wrote a lot of them.

  1. Burritos and Gasoline (2006)
  2. To the Lifeboats (2012)
  3. Just About Armageddon (2013)
  4. Isle of Safety (2014)
  5. Deep in the Grove (2014)
  6. Binary Choices (2014)
  7. Survival of the Fittest (2014)

She also found out that he’s a humor columnist for 863 Magazine and he does lots of other cool things!  When she told me all that, I was really excited to get a email letter from him.  This is the awesome letter he emailed me.

dear-missy_jamie-beckett

I blocked out Mr. Beckett’s email address because I don’t know if I have permission to put that on my blog.  Both my grandpas always say it’s better to not do something if you don’t know if you have permission to do that something.  So this is me doing what both my grandpas say I should do.

But getting back to Mr. Beckett and the letter he sent me, I think it’s one of the best email letters anyone ever sent me, and if I ever see Mr. Beckett at a airport (if you go to the General Aviation News article I linked to, you can see what he looks like), I’m going to just what he suggested.  I’m going to go over there with my mom and say, “Hi, Mr. Beckett.  I’m Missy Barrett and I’m a possible future pilot!”

Leave a Reply

