Missy Barrett's Adventures

The amazing adventures of a fictional child

Watermelons: Fruit or Vegetable?

on August 3, 2016

Today it’s National Watermelon Day, and guess where I’ve been all day?  If you guessed I was out with my one grandma picking up a watermelon for supper, you’re half right.  We got the perfect watermelon for supper and plus for afternoon snacking.

Probably you don’t know this but it’s a super amazing fact.  The Guinness World Record says that the heaviest watermelon ever grown was over 350 pounds and got grown by a man in Sevierville, TN.  Ya, I was surprised, too.  I’m going to ask my Uncle Bob if he knows the man that grew the heaviest watermelon ever.  Then I’m going to ask if he can introduce us because I have a lot of questions about how to grow watermelons and he probably knows a way lot about growing watermelons!

The name of the man is Chris Kent (I hope he still lives in Sevierville because maybe he got crazy famous and moved to Hollywood).

Anyway, I also found out that watermelons are almost 100% pure water.  Actually, they’re 6% sugar that comes from the watermelon and the rest is all water.  And plus you can eat every single part of a watermelon.  You can eat the inside part and the rind and the seeds.  Sometimes my grandma makes pickled watermelon rinds.  I’m going to ask her if she can do that with the watermelon we got today.

Here’s something else I didn’t know (I got this fact from my Grandpa Barrett).  The official state vegetable of Oklahoma is the watermelon.  I am totally not making that up.  I know you think I am but I’m not.  When my grandpa told me, I thought he was being a fooler boy but he wasn’t making it up.  Here’s where he showed me it was true.

Click HERE to read all about it.

Just so you know, Oklahoma’s state fruit are strawberries so I guess they just really like fruit even if they have to call one of them a vegetable.  Except my Grandpa Barrett said that watermelons are a fruit and a vegetable at the same time.  He says that what science says about watermelons.  I guess watermelons are the first unrecognized trans-species plant.

And the first ever watermelon was born in South Africa.  I don’t know how it immigrated to America.  Probably a explorer really liked watermelons and brought some seeds with him so that he could plant them here when he showed up in America.

Leave a Reply

