Missy Barrett's Adventures

The amazing adventures of a fictional child

An Unexpected Adventure

on August 12, 2015

Whenever we go somewhere, I always take my camera with me just in case I see something that screams, “Look at me! Take a picture!” Sometimes I don’t see anything that needs picture taking, but sometimes I do and today was one of those times.

First, I’m going to show you the picture!

Praying Mantis and a Spiderman Spider
That’s what I saw today. That big thing is called a praying mantis and it was really big. I almost thought it was a leaf at first, just kind of rolling past the front door of this store in Gatlinburg. Then I thought I saw some branch parts on the left and that was weird. Except that those weren’t branch parts and that wasn’t a green leaf. That was a insect!

So I whipped out my camera and took a whole lot of pictures of it. If you take pictures, you have to take a lot of them just in case most of them don’t turn out because sometimes what you’re taking a picture of wiggles or moves or runs away and you just get a blurry picture of zero zip nothing.

Anyway, I took a bunch of pictures of it and it kept moving, so I kept taking pictures. Then my Uncle Bob told me that was enough picture-taking for now and I stopped.  It was weird that he told me to stop taking pictures because he never said that before, but he said it this time, so I stopped because he said, “Stop!”

Then when we got home, my Uncle Bob downloaded my pictures to the family computer and when we looked at the picture, I saw something else with the praying mantis. It was this:

Black Widow Spider_Close Up
Yeah, that’s a real, live black widow spider. I already don’t like spiders but then Uncle Bob helped me look up stuff on the Internet about black widow spiders, and I got a little bit worried.

The Internet said that if you get a bite from a black widow spider, it can kill you, but before it kills you, you get really sick and get a very bad headache with throwing up and huge stomach ache so bad you think that you’re in the movie “Alien.”

If you don’t want to get killed, the best thing is to not get close enough to a black widow spider to get bitten. But if you get bitten, you have to get to the hospital where they have a anti-venom shot they can give you that will save your life but probably cost millions of dollars. If you don’t have a million dollars in the bank, you should just make sure you don’t let yourself get bitten.

Anyway, if you see a spider with the red dot, do NOT get close to it. This one was just out there on the streets of Gatlinburg, but the Internet said that usually they like hide in woodpiles and under stones and in sheds and garages. Sometimes they like hide in cluttered up places in basements and crawl spaces, so that’s a really good reason not to let your basement get messy.

Also the Internet said that sometimes the red dot isn’t really red because sometimes it’s kind of a yellow-orange, so I guess the rule to follow is this: Stay away from all spiders because maybe you won’t see the red dot if the spider just crawled through a lot of dirt and covered up the spot.

I’m really happy that I don’t have to sleep in a bedroom in the basement. If I did, I think I’d have to ask my Uncle Bob and Aunt Sissy to take me back home to my mom’s house.

Leave a Reply

