Missy Barrett's Adventures

The amazing adventures of a fictional child

A Tale of Skinks And Skunks

on August 5, 2015

I never heard of a skink before I was visiting my Uncle Bob and Aunt Sissy and my three boy cousins in Sevierville. So far the only skinks I’ve seen are the five-lined skink and a blue tail skink. Because I never heard of skinks before I didn’t know they were lizards but they are.

Anyway, blue tail skinks really have blue tails and not just a little blue and not really dark midnight blue. It’s what my brother Josh calls cobalt blue and he should know because he does a lot of drawings and he has these Copic markers and stuff, so he knows colors!

My cousins down here tried to tell me that blue tail skinks are poisonous, and they touch you with their blue tail, you get really sick and can hardly walk right because all your coordination goes right out the window. I don’t know if I believe them about that but I’m going to steer clear of blue tail skinks and just watch them when I see them.

The thing is that blue tail skinks only have blue tails when they’re teenager skinks, and when they get to be grown-up skinks, they don’t have a blue tail. They have five lines and turn kind of a browny-gray color.

They’re pretty long, too, because my Uncle Bob said they can get to be almost nine inches long. And plus, they can live for six years in a row before they’re really old and have to die.

Aunt Sissy says they’re really good gardener friends because they eat termites and spiders and pests like that. That’s good because I don’t like termites or spiders, so that makes me like skinks a whole lot. But they have to be fast runners and good hiders because foxes and raccoons and skunks and opossums and snakes like to eat them.

I kind of laughed at imagining a skunk eating a skink. I don’t know why. It just sounded funny to me. If it was a newspaper headline, it would really make me laugh, especially if something went wrong: Skunk Skink Scandal.

So that’s all I have to report this week from Sevierville. See you next week!

Leave a Reply

