Missy Barrett's Adventures

The amazing adventures of a fictional child

Sometimes Scientists Get It Wrong

on June 17, 2015

So last week, there was this really famous scientist that got a Nobel Prize and everything one year, and he said that lady scientists make men scientists fall in love with them, and that lady scientists fall in love with men scientists all the time, and that lady scientists cry a lot.  That’s a lot for a supersmart Nobel Prize winning scientist to say all in one sentence, and well, he’s a supersmart Nobel Prize winning scientist so he probably knows tons about lady scientists and scientifical falling in love and crying.

Anyway, I thought I’d do my very own science experiment except not about if I was going to fall in love or cry, except that just doing my experiment meant I was doing the Nobel Prize winning scientist experiment at the same time.   My experiment was a very important experiment about the air inside of tires.  That kind of air is called psi air and I think it’s called that because when you poke at the stem that’s on a tire and some air gets out, it makes that sound:  PSI (it sounds like this ‘psssih‘).

When Roy came over in his Ford F-100 truck that he restored, I went out with my clipboard and paper and pencil, and bent up nail that nobody was going to try using again, and started my experiment.    I already knew from asking Josh to look it up on the Internet that the number of psis in a tire is written on the tire so I looked at the front tire of his truck … the one that’s on the driver’s side … and it said there were 60 in those tires.  Josh showed me where it said on the Internet that you shouldn’t have the maximum pressure figure in a tire because that’s bad for the tire, so I guessed that the tires on Roy’s truck should have 55 psis in each tire.  But it’s always a good thing to ask, so I said, “Roy what’s the number on your tires.”   He said he figured it was probably 50 or 55 or so (that’s how he said it), so that was a good guess of 55 for me to make.

Then he went inside to help Aaron with some work on the plumbing upstairs because there’s a leak or something behind the wall where the shower part of the bathtub is.

Anyway, on my experiment, the idea was to count the number of psis in different kinds of tires starting with one of the truck tires.  It’s really easy to count the number of psis.  First off, you have to find the stem part of the truck and that’s really easy to find because it’s the little sticky out thing.  Then you have to take the little cap off of the sticky out thing, and it’s plastic so it’s not so hard on anybody’s fingers to undo.  Then you have to have something to poke in the sticky out thing to make the psis come out.

So I put the clipboard on the driveway beside me, and every time I let out a psi, I put that down on my paper so I wouldn’t mess up with counting if somebody bugged me while I was doing my experiment work.  It’s important to do it the right way because you don’t want to get the wrong answers.  Anyway, I let out 55 psis and there was still a lot of psis inside the tire.  So I let out another 40 psis, and then to me it looked pretty much empty.

But it’s always important to do back ups on everything in a experiment, so after I got the answer of the first tire, I did the same thing on the tire on the other front side of the truck and that side took 93 psis to get empty.

Then I went in the garage and did the experiment on Aaron’s dirt bike.  My mom doesn’t like it when Aaron goes dirt bike riding but Aaron likes it.  And plus, he never ever got hurt when he does it even if my mom always says she’s scared he’s going to get hurt doing it.

Anyway, Aaron has a used by somebody else Yamaha WR250F dirt bike that him and Roy fixed up, and I really like it because it has blue on it.  I already knew from listening to him talk that the front tire has 12 psis in it and 13 psis inside the back one.  I don’t know why he spells the word out when he talks about his bike, but he does, but I know what he means so I checked how many psis had to get let out before the tires were empty.

Guess what?  There were more psis in those tires than he was supposed to have in them.

Then I checked the psis on the tires on Josh’s Nashbar Flat Bar Road Bike that used to be Aaron’s before he got his dirt bike.  And guess what again?  There were a whole lot of psis in his tires, too!  I got all the numbers written down on my experiment page in the right places so I wouldn’t get the numbers mixed up.

I was almost ready to start figuring out how many psis were in the tires on my mom’s 4-wheel deluxe folding up shopping cart that she keeps on the back porch for when she has to go up the street to pick up a few things at the corner store when Roy came back out.  I heard him sound really upset, so I went to see what was bugging him.

Well, I’m not going to say too much about what was bugging him, but I can tell you what the answers of my experiment turned out to be.

1.  No boy scientists fell in love with this girl scientist so that Nobel Prize winning scientist was wrong.
2.  This girl scientist didn’t fall in love with any boy scientists so that Nobel Prize winning scientist was wrong about that, too.
3.  This girl scientist cried so the Nobel Prize winning scientist got that part right.
4.  It’s a whole lot harder putting psis back inside a tire than getting psis out of a tire, and I know that because I had to put lots of psis back into the one tire on Josh’s bike with a break-your-arms-off air pump thing as the first part of my consequence.
5.  Sometimes scientists get consequenced off the Internet for a whole week when they’re finding out if other Nobel Prize winning scientists are right.

So that’s how come last week I never got to put a blog entry on my blog on Wednesday.   And plus, the next day after my experiment, I had to go to Roy’s heating and plumbing store and help him do inventory with my clipboard.  Roy supplied the papers and pencil, and I had to count a lot of things and write them right number down in the right place on the papers.

There was no letting any air out of anything with what I did at Roy’s store.

It was not a experiment.  It was a punishment.

3 responses to “Sometimes Scientists Get It Wrong

  1. Ha Hah! Never mind, Missy. Your intentions were noble. We live and learn, my dear. Hugs, Artie Q

  2. […] you remember that last month I kind of got myself in trouble and had to help Roy at his store as a punishment.  I’ve been thinking about what I did (not […]

Leave a Reply

