Missy Barrett's Adventures

The amazing adventures of a fictional child

Pluto’s Going To Prove It

on January 25, 2015

Today, NASA is going to start getting pictures of Pluto.  Actually, they sent this spaceship from NASA that got launched in 2006 when I was just a little baby and it’s almost at Pluto right now.  I can’t believe it took so many years to get there but it did!

The spaceship isn’t so very big because the news people said it’s the size of a baby grand piano and I know how big that is because my one grandma and grandpa have one of those right in their front room at their house.  It’s big, but not so big.  I mean, if my grown-up brother Aaron lay down on the floor going one way and I lay down on the floor going the other way, we would almost be as long as two sides of that piano.  So that’s how big the spaceship is.

I’m really excited about the pictures that are going to get taken because they’re going to be way better than the ones that the Hubble telescope can take.  And plus, it’s going to take pictures of the moons of Pluto, too!

I’m really excited about this because when the spaceship got launched, Pluto was a planet.  Then not even a year later, it wasn’t a planet anymore and got called a plutoid, which I think is a silly name:  Pluto the Plutoid.  But now it looks like after Pluto gets a NASA spaceship close-up picture, it’s probably going to get made back to a planet again — just like it always was!

And here’s something lots of people don’t know but I do because my one grandpa told me: The discoverer of Pluto came from the state I come from.  Yeah, isn’t that cool?  The discoverer of Pluto was from Streator, Illinois.  Guess what else?  Streator, Illinois already said that 2015 is the Year of Pluto and I like that a lot.  I like it so much, I’m going to ask my mom if we can go to Streator this year just because that’s where the discoverer came from, and it would be good to see what kind of place Streater is.

This is the picture that’s on the website of Streator, and it looks so cool.  I wonder if it really looks like that out by Pluto.  I guess I’ll just have to wait and see when those pictures start getting taken by the NASA spaceship.

pluto
I really like Pluto, and if you read my blog, you already know that because I wrote about Pluto in October already.  You can read all about it by CLICKING HERE.  So how do you feel about all this?  Are you excited to see the pictures of Pluto and other parts of outer space?  I sure am!

7 responses to “Pluto’s Going To Prove It

  1. […] astronomy in past blog entries on the Missy Barrett blog, it only makes sense that this past Sunday she wrote about Pluto and NASA.   What Missy didn’t anticipate was that Streator Tourism would read and comment […]

  2. […] SUNDAY: Pluto’s Going To Prove It […]

  3. Jeff Long says:

    That’s great that Missy likes Pluto. It may be a minor planet, but it will always be the most special one there will ever be.

    • Elyse Bruce says:

      I think it’s great as well, Jeff. Heaven knows that if Pluto succeeds in regaining its title as a planet, Missy will most likely want to coordinate a Celestial Celebration parade, most likely led by a comet. I’ll let you know if that happens. 😉

  4. […] knows that I’m interested in the NASA spacecraft that flew past Pluto last summer.  I even wrote about the town that the astronomer that found Pluto came from last year.  And plus, I wrote about Pluto even […]

  5. […] Pluto.  I also like the rest of outer space but I mostly love Pluto for lots of reasons I also wrote about on my blog so […]

  6. […] Pluto.  Everybody knows I love Pluto.  It’s not a secret.  And it’s not a secret I want Pluto to get made a planet again by NASA after they deplaneted it a long time ago because it should’ve never gotten deplaneted […]

Leave a Reply

