Missy Barrett's Adventures

The amazing adventures of a fictional child

To All A Good Night

on December 24, 2014

‘Twas the night before Christmas, and all through the house …

Fooled you!  I’m not going to write my own version of that poem for today’s entry on my blog.  The only thing that’s the same is that it’s the night before Christmas just like in the poem.

Today both my grandpas and both my grandmas came over for Christmas Eve supper at our place just like they do every year or at least for as many years as I can remember and then some.  I’m saying and then some because there’s some Christmas Eves I was at that I don’t remember when I was a baby but there’s lots of pictures in the photo albums my mom has that show everyone including me all together for Christmas Eve supper where we lived before we moved to the house we live in now.

Anyway, my one grandpa that’s not a Mohawk and my grandma that’s his wife got to our house first.  I hugged them both really tight, not because I don’t see them so much (because actually I see them a whole lot just like I get to see my other grandma and grandpa a whole lot), but because I’m always happy when I see them.

I’m going to tell you a secret that’s not a secret but that gets treated like a secret even though it shouldn’t ever be a secret:  Always let people know how much you love them every time you see them because that will make the other person’s heart happy.

After I hugged my grandma and grandpa, you probably not going to guess what my grandpa said.

“Missy, your grandma and I didn’t bring any presents with us this year,” he said.

“That’s okay,” I said.  “You can still have supper with us.”

“But Missy,” he said, “isn’t the whole idea of Christmas about getting as much kaching! and loot as possible?”

“If you need some kaching!” I said (because that’s the special code word Grandpa and me have for money), “I can give you almost all of the kaching! in my piggy bank.  And if you need more, I can ask my mom if she has spare change in her office desk.”

My grandpa laughed.  “No, I don’t need kaching!  But aren’t you worried about not getting any Christmas presents?”

“Oh, Grandpa,” I said back, “presents are just things and I can get things pretty much anytime.  What I can’t get pretty much anytime is Christmas supper with all of my grandmas and grandpas!  So maybe you can call that your present to me, and I would be okay with it.  Are you okay with it?”

Then my grandpa called for Aaron to come, and when Aaron came, my grandpa gave him his car keys and said, “There’s some boxes of things you can get pretty much anytime in the trunk of my car.  Could you bring them in for me, please?”

Aaron took the keys and when he came back in from outside, he was carrying two big boxes with lots of wrapped up packages inside.

“Hey,” I said laughing at my grandpa.  “You were being a fooler boy!”

My grandpa laughed really hard and so did my grandma.

“Missy,” he said, giving me a really big hug, “don’t ever change.”

“But Grandpa,” I said, “I’m changing every single day.  I’m getting bigger you know.”

“Oh, I know,” he said back.  “I mean don’t ever change who you are.  That’s the best present you could give me.”

I hugged him back just as hard as I could.  “Grandpa, I’m so happy you’re here and I’m so happy that Grandma is here, too.”

Tomorrow I’m going to write more about what else happened at our Family Christmas Eve supper.  If I wrote everything tonight, I’d never get to bed before midnight.  And now, I’m going to watch “It’s A Wonderful Life” with everybody.

Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night.  And see you tomorrow on my blog!

 

Leave a Reply

