Missy Barrett's Adventures

The amazing adventures of a fictional child

One More Week Before Clarence Comes

on December 17, 2014

It’s one whole week away from Christmas Eve, and I’m so excited but not for the reasons maybe you think I’m excited.  Most kids say they’re excited because they can hardly wait to get tons and tons of presents and eat lots and lots of candy and drink lots and lots of soda pop.  But that’s not why I’m excited for Christmas Eve.

I’m excited because on Christmas Eve, my two grandmas and my two grandpas come over for Christmas Eve supper at our house.  My one grandpa that’s a Mohawk always tells us stories about when he was growing up on the rez, and then my other grandpa tells us stories about when he was growing up in Midwest.

Then the two grandmas talk about how in the olden days they used to make popcorn strings and put them on the Christmas tree, and every year, I say, “Hey, I think we should do that this year.”

Then can you guess what happens?

My mom makes lots and lots of popcorn but we don’t make popcorn strings.  Instead we get to watch “It’s A Wonderful Life” and every year, George Bailey of the Bailey Brothers Savings and Loan place and Clarence the Angel have an adventure together in a town called Bedford Falls in New York State.  Except I don’t know if there’s even a place called Bedford Falls in New York State but there could be a place called Bedford Falls in New York State.

But nothing like that ever happened in my family — at least I don’t think it ever happened — but I like to pretend that we have an angel like Clarence that helps sometimes.

Sometimes when my brother, Josh, is having trouble breathing because of his MG, I pretend that Clarence is helping him breathe.  And sometimes when my brother, Aaron, is having what the doctor calls a autonomic trouble, I pretend that Clarence is helping him, too.

My mom doesn’t know this, but there was this one time really late at night when my dad phoned all the way long distance from Kuwait, and when she hung up the phone, she was so sad she cried a lot.  I pretended that Clarence made her hot chocolate with tiny, little marshmallow in it to drink and gave her some homemade chocolate chip cookies to help her not feel so sad.

Anyway, that’s why I get excited for Christmas Eve.

And plus the next day, we get to call Uncle Rick and Aunt Debbie and talk to my cousins there, and then we get to call Uncle Bob and Aunt Sissy and talk to my cousins there.  But before we get to make all those phone calls, my dad calls all the way from Kuwait and talks to all of us.

That’s why I’m so excited that in one more week it’s going to be Christmas Eve … because that’s when all my favorite people pay attention to angels.

Leave a Reply

