Missy Barrett's Adventures

The amazing adventures of a fictional child

Serious Listening Matters

on October 22, 2014

Sometimes things happen in the world that I don’t find out about until I get home from school.  Today was one of those days.

When I got home from school, my mom said we weren’t going to watch the news tonight and that was weird because we always watch the news together because it’s important to know what’s going on in other places.  But my mom kept saying “NO” about watching the news tonight and she said it was because she had to do some important thinking first.

My mom never has to do important thinking before we watch the news, so I called my grandpa and asked him if he was going to watch the news tonight.  He said he watched the news all day long and that was weird because my grandpa never watches the news all day long.

That’s how I figured out that something really bad probably happened somewhere in the world when I was at school today.

“How come you’re watching the news all day today, Grandpa?” I asked.

He said, “Because there’s news unfolding that I want to catch.”

Then I said, “It’s bad news, right?”

And he said, “It’s just news, Missy.”

I told him I knew it was bad news because my mom wasn’t letting me watch the news at supper time and all he said was that I had to listen to my mom and not try to find out the news.  I promised him I wouldn’t try to find out what the news was, and he made me promise I was going to wait until my mom was done doing her important thinking.  So I promised because if you can’t trust your mom or your grandpa, who are you going to trust?

So I know this isn’t the blog entry I usually write, but it’s something that I had to write about because listening matters.  Even if I want to find out what’s going on, it’s smarter to listen to my mom and my grandpa tell me to wait.

I’m guessing probably the news has some of that ‘inappropriate content‘ stuff my mom talks about and I don’t want to see ‘inappropriate content.’  I hope that whatever the bad news is that it doesn’t keep making my mom and grandpa upset.  I don’t want to think my mom is never going to watch news ever again, and I don’t want to think that my grandpa is going to watch news all day long forever.  It’s just that whatever happened in the world today is something I don’t need to know about right now.

Next week, I think it’s going to be a way better blog entry because I have two important announcements to make.

One response to “Serious Listening Matters

  1. cairennhouse says:

    Hi Missy,
    I agree with you that it’s important to know what’s going on in the world, however, there are times when kids need to get the news from their parents rather than the television. Sometimes kids just need to concentrate on kid stuff and let the grown-ups worry about grown-up stuff. I’m sure your mom will make a good decision about what you need to know. I’m happy you realize how important it is to listen to her. I’m also happy that your mom watches out for inappropriate content –Jayne

Leave a Reply

