Missy Barrett's Adventures

The amazing adventures of a fictional child

International Day Of The Girl

on October 11, 2014

Yesterday at school, I told everybody that today is the second ever International Day of the Girl.  I got permission from my teacher to put that on Facebook except I had to say I wasn’t going to talk about it anymore at school yesterday.  I guess I was what my grandma calls a Chatty Cathy except my name isn’t Cathy.

Anyway, it so important that the President of the United States even made a Presidential Proclamation about it yesterday.  You know it’s important when the President even knows about it and says, “Hey, everybody of the United States, you need to know about this day. It’s International Day of the Girl.  Everybody pay attention to it!”

Probably you think I’m making that up, but I’m not.  My brother, Aaron, helped me find it on the Internet and this is where it is:  http://www.whitehouse.gov/the-press-office/2014/10/10/presidential-proclamation-international-day-girl-2014.

See the Internet address on the link?  It says it’s the Internet address of the White House, and you know who lives at the White House?  That’s right.  The President of the United States of America.

And you know what it says in the Presidential Proclamation?  It says this:  “I call upon all Americans to observe this day with programs, ceremonies, and activities that advance equality and opportunity for girls everywhere.”

And you know what else?  There’s a International Men’s Day in November and a International Women’s Day in March, but there’s no International Day of the Boy.  I’m going to ask my mom to help me write a letter to the President and ask him to make a International Day of the Boy because it’s not fair for boys to not have a special day for them.

But that’s not going to happen in one day, so today, everybody needs to celebrate the International Day of the Girl!!!

 

Leave a Reply

