Missy Barrett's Adventures

The amazing adventures of a fictional child

County Fairs Are Confusing

on September 10, 2014

This weekend that just went by, I got to go to a county fair with my mom and my brothers, Josh and Aaron.  I wanted to go in the daytime but the gates didn’t open until 5 o’clock so we had supper at our house first and then we went to the fair grounds.

My grandma told my mom that when we went there we had to go see the tie die, but my mom never told me how come we had to go see the tie die.  I wasn’t too sure I wanted to go to a fair where they made a tie die but my mom said I was probably going to like that part a lot, so I didn’t argue.  My mom is almost all the time one hundred percent right, so I just go along with whatever she says because when someone is right that many times, you just got to go with the flow.

So when we paid the money to get in, we went to this big red barn part because that’s where the arts and crafts and garden stuff and award-winning creations were.  That’s what Josh and Aaron were saying anyway.  I don’t know if that’s all that was in there, but when we got in there, I have to say there was a whole lot inside for sure.

Anyway, we got to look at a lot of old farm equipment that was from a hundred years ago, and we got to see a lot of tables that had homemade things on them like both my grandmas make.  There were scrapbooks and jellies in jars and homemade quilts that had people stitches and not sewing machine stitches.  It was amazing what was on all those tables.

And then my mom pointed to this one area of the red barn and she said, “There it is.”  I looked around and I was confused.  For one thing, this is the first thing I saw.

This Is Tie Dye_EXTRA SMALL_© Elyse Bruce 2014

That doesn’t even look like a tie, unless it’s a short tie for a very tall giant!  And plus another thing: Nothing dies when you make a tie out of cotton, and trust me, that tie was made out of cotton!  So why they call it a tie die, I’ll never know, but at least I didn’t have to be sad because nothing died!

Then we got to go to other parts of the red barn to look at even more stuff that comes from gardens and farms.  I got to see tomatoes and pumpkins and gourds and green beans.  I even got to see eggs, and some of the eggs were green.  I asked the one lady that had the green eggs what was wrong with her eggs and she said there was nothing wrong with her eggs.  She said her hens lay green eggs all the time and it’s because of the food she feeds them.  I guess she must feed them lots of green beans and salads instead of regular chicken eating food.

But the good thing about talking to the lady that has hens that lay green eggs is that I don’t have to worry about little kids reading “Green Eggs And Ham” and getting the wrong idea about those green eggs in the story.  I know that the boy in the story won’t eat green eggs, but now I can tell little kids that if the hens are eating green beans and salads instead of regular chicken eating food, then those green eggs are okay to eat.

I’m going to ask my mom to buy some green eggs from the lady’s farm so I can say I ate green eggs and they were delicious and plus, they didn’t even kill me dead.

After the green eggs table, I saw a different kind of table, but my mom wouldn’t let me stop and talk to the man that was working there.  She said we had to get going, but I sneaked a picture of it because I thought it was pretty.  This is what it looked like.

Ole Smoky_EXTRA SMALL_© Elyse Bruce 2014

The next time my mom’s friend, Roy comes to visit, I’m going to ask him if he has things like that at his work.  If he says yes, I’m going to ask if he can let me borrow them for a while so I can decorate my room so it looks like that picture.  I like it because it makes me think of where the hens that lay the green eggs probably live, and that will make me smile.

 

Leave a Reply

