Missy Barrett's Adventures

The amazing adventures of a fictional child

Classic Rock FTW

on June 18, 2014

Some people were saying that I got the Church song wrong when I wrote about it on my blog last month, but I don’t think so.  I’m really sure that the people from the Church that were singing that day were singing about laying down their bourbon down by the riverside because alcohol does crazy things to people if they drink too much of it.

Anyway, last Saturday, Aaron went to the grocery store for my mom to get groceries and I asked if I could come with, and he said, “Yes.”  So did my mom, so I got to go to the store with Aaron.  My mom even let us go in the car because she said that it was too many groceries to walk home with if I was going to come with.

I like going places with my brother, Aaron, because he turns the car radio on and doesn’t go jumping all over the place.  He just picks one radio station and that’s the music we get to listen to all the way to where we’re going, and then all the way back home.  He’s not like my mom.  She goes poke, poke, poke, and then click! it’s off, and I don’t even know what we were listening to because she’s way fast with the poke, poke, poke part.

So we were driving to the grocery store and listening to what Aaron calls Classic Rock.  I don’t know what that means exactly but I know it means music from a long time ago that has words you can hear and is pretty good for dancing to if you want to dance to it.  And then I heard it!  I heard the song that proves I didn’t hear the Church people’s song crookedy in my ears.

There was this boy singer and he was singing, “I’ll  never be your beast of bourbon.”  If drinking bourbon means you turn into a beast, then that makes drinkers of bourbon a beast of bourbon.  And if you’re a people, you don’t want to be a beast so you have lay down your bourbon down by the riverside and that way you’ll never be a beast of bourbon.

When we got back to our house, I told my mom that I heard on the radio that I’m not wrong.  Then I put the two bags Aaron asked me to take into the kitchen on the kitchen counter, and went to my room to write this down in my notepad.  I wrote down the day and time that I heard the song, and the numbers of the radio station, in case anybody thinks I’m making it up just so I can be right.  Then they can call the radio station people up and the radio station people will tell them about the song.

Plus, it will be a good thing to have in my notepad because then I can say that sometimes people make mistakes and say that things aren’t one way when they really are that way.  Now I know two songs that say that bourbon is not so good to be drinking.

Leave a Reply

