Missy Barrett's Adventures

The amazing adventures of a fictional child

Words Work Better

on May 28, 2014

I was on Facebook a couple weeks ago when I saw this meme with a squirrel on it, and it was dancing.

10251986_10152372221176138_1859141054113362480_n
It was really funny and cute, and I was thinking that maybe I could do what the squirrel was doing and make suppertime loads of fun.  Except that it didn’t work so well for me as it probably worked for the squirrel.

I was thinking that maybe if I did the interpretive squirrel dancing, my mom would figure out what I was saying except she didn’t. So on Saturday, I did the squirrel dancing to put my order in for supper.  Instead of understanding what I really wanted for supper, my mom gave me spaghetti and meatballs.  I was NOT asking for spaghetti and meatballs.  I was asking for chicken fingers and smiley fries.

Now if you don’t have smiley fries at your house, they’re like homemade potato chips fried up like French fries except your mom takes a shishkabob stick and poked eyes in every single one and then with this other poker-out thing she has in her kitchen for doing something with (I never see her using everything she’s got in that special kitchen things drawer, but I know she uses all of them for something) and makes a smile on every single one.

But I didn’t get chicken fingers and smiley fries.  I got spaghetti and meatballs.

When I told her that’s not what I my dancing said, she said, “Oh, I thought you were Saturday Night dancing for me.”  And that really mixed me up.  She kind of got things mixed up.  She thought because I was squirrel dancing on a Saturday, that I was saying I wanted the Saturday Night dancing supper like in the movie that she won’t let me watch where I can see for myself how the boy in the movie got spaghetti and meatballs (the boy does a lot of dancing in the movie, my mom says).

The next day when I was talking with my Uncle Rick (he’s going to start a restaurant someday called Fat Daddy’s Kitchen and you should eat there because my Uncle Rick is a really good cook and I just love everything he makes when we go over there to visit) and he laughed really hard when I told him what happened.  Then he said that if I did the squirrel dance at his house, he would probably put ham on a plate for me, not spaghetti and meatballs!

I’m thinking I need to figure out how to do the squirrel dance that says chicken fingers and smiley fries.  The good news is that I’ve got the spaghetti and meatballs, and the ham squirrel dance down perfectly so far.  I guess I just need to practice some more so I can figure out how to say what I’m thinking when I do interpretive squirrel dancing.

Leave a Reply

