Missy Barrett's Adventures

The amazing adventures of a fictional child

About That Church Song I Heard

on May 7, 2014

Sometimes my mom and me, we go places where we get to hear people singing songs.  Sometimes the songs are songs I know and sometimes the songs are songs I don’t know but really like and sometimes the songs are songs I don’t know but that the person that made the songs didn’t think too hard about first before writing them.  That’s what happened on Saturday when we got to hear some church people singing church songs from their own church.

I’m pretty sure that church songs are supposed to be good songs, but this one song they did was kind of good and kind of not so good.  It was good because it was about doing something good, but it was kind of not so good because it was only thinking about the people of the song, and not the animals of the song.

It was a fun song and it made me want to dance and clap my hands just like the church people were doing.  They had great big smiles on their faces, and they were clapping their hands all over the place, not just in front of their own bodies.  It was a little bit like hoedown hand clapping but not exactly because there was more dancing in it than that.

Anyway, the people were singing, “Gonna lay down my bourbon, down by the riverside, down by the riverside, down by the riverside.”

I think it’s a good thing not to drink alcohol and bourbon is a alcohol, and there’s a reason why the police say that you have to be a grown-up to go in a store or a bar and get alcohol.  It’s also a reason why the television says, “Don’t drink and drive.”  They don’t mean just any old drink; they mean a alcohol drink.

So getting back to the song where they were singing, “Gonna lay down my bourbon, down by the riverside, down by the riverside, down by the riverside” that was bugging me so bad. You see, it’s a very good thing the people are going to lay down bourbon and not drink it anymore but what about the animals down by the riverside?

What if animals find the bourbon and then drink it? That would not be good. And what if the bourbon fell in the water and got all the fish drunk?  That would not be good at all.  And sometimes birds drink water so if a flock of birds went to the riverside for drinking, they would be “drinking and flying” and that’s got to be way bad just like “drinking and driving.”

The song would be better if they were singing, “Not gonna buy no more bourbon, drive by the drinking sign, drive by the drinking sign, drive by the drinking sign.”  Then the song would work better for everybody, but especially for the animals and fish and birds.  I’m going to ask my mom if it’s okay for me to write a letter to the church people and let them know what I think they should do to that bourbon song.

Leave a Reply

