Missy Barrett's Adventures

The amazing adventures of a fictional child

Celebrating Oreo and Sali Dali

on April 9, 2014

Guess what I found out today? Friday is National Pet Day! I don’t know what you’re supposed to do on National Pet Day but my family qualifies for the holiday because we have two pets: Sali Dali Cat and Oreo Speedwagon. Sali’s real name is actually Salvador Dali Cat but we just call him Sali Dali Cat because rhyming it is lots of fun.

I’m thinking that on Friday, my mom should get a can of tuna and split it so that Sali Dali Cat can eat half of it and Oreo Speedwagon can eat the other half of it. They usually get hard cat food and they like that a lot, but it would be nice to have something special for them on National Pet Day. I’m thinking that National Pet Day is like the 4th of July for people, and on the 4th of July everybody eats hotdogs and hamburgers and drinks soda pop. So tuna is probably the cat version of that. Maybe it’s not, but I think it might be.

I’m going to ask my teacher tomorrow if people with pets get the day off from school. Some holidays you don’t get off from school, but some of them you do. Maybe this is one of the “off from school” holidays. If it is, I’m going to spend all day playing with Sali Dali Cat and Oreo Speedwagon. I’m going to play all the games they want to play, and then we’re going to have a parade right to the kitchen when it’s time for their special tuna supper. I’m even going to make paper crowns for them because on special days, you have to do special things to make them really special.

I hope if you have a pet that you have enough time to make Friday special for you cat or dog or guinea pig or turtle or whatever kind of pet you’ve got. Your pet will never forget you for doing that, I’ll bet. And maybe on your birthday, your pet is going to remember that you did something special on National Pet Day, and then your pet will give you a surprise! I just hope that if you have a cat that the surprise isn’t something that’s going to make you get too surprised. You know how cats are sometimes!

Leave a Reply

