Missy Barrett's Adventures

The amazing adventures of a fictional child

Missy Mash

on November 1, 2013

Probably I never told you guys before that my brother Josh is in the glee club at his school and it’s a little bit like the show but not exactly.    On TV, they just get told about the song and then BOOM! they know it already with all the parts and dancing and stuff like that.  At Josh’s school, they practice songs for a really, really long time and then they sound a little bit like the television Glee song singer people.

Anyway, last week Josh was trying to come up with a great mash idea for songs, and I said I wanted to help.  He said maybe I wouldn’t be able to, but I was pretty sure I could because I have a good idea about things that go together.   So he said that the songs had to go together like doing party songs.  Mom  has this old-fashioned CD that’s really big and she puts it her ancient record player and the name of the singers are Kool and the Gang.  Josh said that it might be cool to do one of their songs about wanting to go to a party and then mash it with the Rock Party Anthem.

I guess that makes sense but I’m thinking it’s probably not too good an idea because it’s kind of the same idea.  I think mashes need to be more like books.   I know what you probably thinking.  “Hey Missy, that’s mixing up things a lot.”  Except it’s not.  Not really.  Everybody likes books with a good guy and a bad guy, and then after all kinds of exciting adventures, the good guy wins and then it’s … The End.  Books like that are very good books.

I think you can do that with mashes.  Josh doesn’t think you can because he told me to go away out of his bedroom after I told him my big idea for a mash for his Glee singing club.

Here’s my idea.

Everybody likes the Gilligan Island song. I like it a lot.  Sometimes I wish we got lost on a island like that with the Professor and Mary Ann and Mr. and Mrs. Howell and the Skipper and Ginger and Gilligan … except not so much Gilligan because he kind of bugs me because he’s silly too much, and lots of times he wrecks important things and they don’t get saved off the island.  That would make me mad if I was on that island and I would be not too nice to Gilligan.  I would not be mean, but I would not be too nice.  Just enough so he would figure out maybe it’s time to stop being too silly.

And you know what else?  It would be fun inventing things like washing machines and stuff like that if I was on a Gilligan Island with everybody I already said.  But I don’t want to talk about how much fun the island would be.  I want to talk about my song mash idea.

Here’s my idea.  Some of the singers would start singing the Gilligan Island song just like this:

Just sit right back and you’ll hear a tale, a tale of a fateful trip
That started from this tropic port aboard this tiny ship.

The mate was a mighty sailing man; the skipper brave and sure.
Five passengers set sail that day for a three-hour tour, a three-hour tour.

And then you know what would happen? Then the other singers would start singing their song, and you know what song they would start to sing?

The theme from JAWS!

Isn’t that a great idea?  A lot of good Gilligan Island guys on one side and a bunch of JAWS sharks on the other!!!

I think that would be really good because it would be just like singing a really good book.  You guys know what I mean.  And I think you guys agree with me. Best mash EVER!

Leave a Reply

