Missy Barrett's Adventures

The amazing adventures of a fictional child

Where I Went

on October 11, 2013

Probably you been wondering where I went because I didn’t put anything on my blog last week or the week before that.  I have a good reason for why that happened, and when I tell you, probably you will say that you aren’t mad at me anymore for not writing for two whole weeks.

I got grounded for doing something that was not a good thing to do.   You probably are thinking to yourself, “Hey, Missy, what did you do that got you in so much trouble?”

I’m going to tell you.  It’s not so bad because nobody got hurt, but it’s not so good because my mom said the ending could maybe be so awful I would never write in my blog ever again!

It’s just that I wanted to see the weather patterns that Aaron always talks about.  He goes on his computer and opens up the radar on a website and there’s all kinds of pretty colors and swirly things and he says this color going this way means rain and that color going that way means hot weather.  But you know, I can never see those swirly things from on the ground and it’s because the radar on the website is probably up high, like on a rooftop or something like that.

So I went outside and got the ladder like my mom’s friend, Roy, does when he has to go up on the roof, and then I just put it up in the same place Roy does and I climbed up the ladder.  I only wanted to go high enough to see the swirly parts of the sky that the radar sees and then I got on top of the first part of the roof and I accidentally kicked the ladder back down on the ground.  That was not so good.

I was a little stuck, but not too much stuck because some of the windows upstairs, they pop out of  the roof like on my doll house, so I figured maybe I could just sneaky sneak over to Aaron’s room, knock on the window and he could let me back inside our house.  So I went, sneaky sneak over to that window except that the nice old grandma next door saw me and she ran outside her house and over to my own house very fast.

The next thing I know, the ladder was getting back on the roof and then I saw my mom’s face and she wasn’t smiling too much.  And then Aaron’s window got open and Aaron was telling me to go back to our mom.  Except if Aaron’s window was open, I still think I could have climbed back in that way.  But Aaron wouldn’t let me.  He said mom told him to tell me to go back to her on the ladder.  So that’s what I had to do.  Go back to the ladder and my mom with the not-happy face.

Climbing up a ladder is not as scary as climbing down a ladder, but I guess when you’re a mom, it doesn’t matter what direction you’re going on a ladder.  It’s scary in the up direction and in the down direction.

So once I got down on the backyard grass, oh boy, was I ever in big trouble after my mom hugged me so hard I could hardly not breathe at all.    And then the questions started getting asked.

Melissa Rue Barrett, what were you thinking?  Why would you go up on the roof like that?  Do you know what could have happened to you up there?  Do you understand you are to never do that ever again?  You know my mom’s really, really mad when she uses ALL of my names at the same time when she’s giving me what for!

And then she asked what I thought a good consequence would be for going up on the roof and scaring the living daylights out of our next-door-neighbor, Mrs. Wilmington, and Aaron and her.  I thought for a couple of really long seconds and then said I thought maybe I should get no dessert for two weeks, but mom said that wasn’t going to happen because I already don’t like dessert too much.

So I had to think for a couple of more really long seconds and then I said I thought maybe I should have to stay in my room for the rest of the day with no supper, but mom said that wasn’t going to happen either because I have books in my room and I would just have a good time reading them.

So I said I didn’t know what a good consequence would look like because I’m just a little girl and she’s a grown-up mommy.  And you know what she said?  She said that maybe if I couldn’t write anything on my blog for two whole weeks, that would give me a lot of time to think about what I did, and learn why it was not a good thing to do, and then never do it again for as long as I am a kid.

Two whole weeks!  And it didn’t matter to her how many times I said that wasn’t fair to my blog friends because they didn’t go up on the roof, so why did you guys have to get consequenced?  But one thing about my mom is that once she says something, she means it and she doesn’t change her mind.  So you guys got consequenced, too, and you didn’t even know how come.  Now you know.

Anyway, I did a lot of thinking.  I even did a lot of reading at the library about falling off a roof, and I’m not sorry my mom gave me that consequence because kids shouldn’t go up on top of the house.

I’m just going to have to wait until I’m a grown-up before I can go up there and try to see the swirly things in the sky that the radar puts on the Internet.  That’s what I’m going to have to do.  Wait until I’m a grown-up like Aaron and mom and Roy, except not as old as Mom and Roy when I go up on the roof next time.

One response to “Where I Went

  1. cairennhouse says:

    And, sadly, by the time you’re all grown up you won’t want to go up on that roof. I applaud your sense of adventure, Missy, and I’m glad you have a mom who helps you to learn things that will keep you safe. It’s good to know you’re loved.

Leave a Reply

