Missy Barrett's Adventures

The amazing adventures of a fictional child

The Internet and Benedict Arnold

on August 30, 2013

I’ve been home a whole week now and school doesn’t start for me until next week.  I got two more weeks of summer my cousins didn’t get but they got two more weeks of summer I didn’t get at the beginning of summer, so that’s okay.

Anyway, guess what’s happening at my place for supper?  You probably not going to guess because you probably don’t know why today is really special for me.  Today it’s August 30, 2013.

Josh made a list of things that happened on lots of August 30ths before I got born. I don’t know if they’re all true because I didn’t get time on the Internet with Aaron yet today, but I think they’re probably all true. Josh likes to do things like that. He likes to make lists of important things and August 30th is an important thing.

The list says that in 1995 that Cable News Network joins internet. That’s the same year my other brother, Aaron got born in. In 1992, two people I dont’ know and that even my mom doesn’t know discovered a comet. It says on the list that David Lewett and Jane Luu discovered 1992 QB1 sixty-four million kilometers from the Sun. I don’t know how far away that is in miles, but it’s probably a lot of million miles, too.

Bet you didn’t know that in 1984, the twelfth NASA space shuttle mission Discovery 1 got launched. I like that because when my mom and brothers and me went to Florida on a holiday last year, we got to go to NASA for two whole days and see lots of neat things like going up in the gantry. And you know what? They have this great music in the gantry and I’m thinking that probably that’s why the astronauts are always smiling when they’re on television and getting ready to go inside a rocket. They know they’re going to hear great music at the gantry. I think there’s something like that in Nashville, too, but I’m not sure. I think it’s called the Grand Ole Gantry. I’ll have to ask my Aunt Sissy again.

And then in 1855, thirteen thousand meteors got seen in one whole hour in a place called Andromeda. I don’t know where that is exactly but I think it would be pretty to see that many meteors going in the sky all at one time. If it was night-time when it happened, it probably looked like God was sprinkling glitter all over the earth. I wish we could get to see thirteen thousand meteors all in one hour one night in the summer so I could get my mom to let me take a sleeping back to the backyard and pretend I was a fairy princess waking up to glitter magic. That would be so romantic.

Plus there was a peace treaty that got signed in New Amsterdam in 1645. Josh wrote down that it was between the Dutch people and Indians but I think maybe he didn’t get that right because when I asked him where New Amsterdam was he said it’s the old name people used before they used the new name, New York. That’s kind of weird. It’s not like cities can get married and change their names, but Josh says it’s true. I’m going to ask Aaron to check for sure in case Josh got mixed up.

Here’s the only bad thing that ever happened on August 30 and it was in 1780 when Benedict Arnold did a very bad thing.   He made a secret deal with the army of England to surrender the fort at West Point. That’s why they call him a traitor and that’s why sometimes when people double deal trick you, it’s okay to call them a Benedict Arnold.

Anyway, the reason it’s important to know about all those other August 30ths is because today is my birthday. Today I’m exactly eight years old. If you want, you can leave me a birthday message right here on my blog in the comments section. I promise I will read everything anybody writes, and answer back next week on my Friday blog schedule.

3 responses to “The Internet and Benedict Arnold

  1. Happy birthday Missy! I hope next year is filled with lots of mysteries and adventures!

  2. Happy Birthday, Missy! 8 is my favorite number and it was one of my favorite birthdays. I hope this is one for you to treasure for years to come. 🙂

  3. Out of all the great things that happened on that day, your birth is the most important! Happy birthday and I hope you had a great day!

Leave a Reply

