Missy Barrett's Adventures

The amazing adventures of a fictional child

Mermaids and Me

on July 26, 2013

You know what I saw on television news yesterday?  I saw a news report about a Mermaid Academy!  I’m not fooling you … a real Mermaid Academy.  And there were lots of pretty mermaids in the news story.  They were so pretty that I could not believe my eyes!

When I was little, I used to wish I was a mermaid princess, and sometimes when my mom took me and my brothers to the swimming pool, I would pretend to be a mermaid princess.  It was hard to do because I’m not a real mermaid, but I tried very hard to swim like how I thought mermaids probably swim.

And guess what I found out yesterday from the news report?  I found out that the way I was thinking that real mermaids swim is exactly how mermaids swim, so I was doing that part right the whole time I was pretending!

When my Uncle Bob came home from work, I asked him if he could go on the Internet with me and find out more information about the Mermaid Academy.  He said he would, but he was laughing a lot so I think maybe he didn’t believe me when I said I heard all about it from the television news.  But you know what happened?  We went on the Internet and just like that, he found a video about a mermaid.  Here’s the video:

I don’t know for sure if that’s a mermaid princess, but I think it probably is because one place where she was swimming was a lot like the place where Ariel from “The Little Mermaid” swims when she’s at her dad’s castle.  Her dad is the King.  His name is King Triton.

Then one of my cousins came in and said that mermaids aren’t real and I said they are and then he said they weren’t.  I was really upset that he would say that, most especially because mermaids are real, even if you never saw one before in your whole entire life.

Then guess what happened?  My Uncle Bob found another video and it showed that there are too mermaids … and mermen.  And you know what else was in the video my Uncle Bob found?  There were real people.  Don’t you think if you said mermaids aren’t real that you would have to say that people aren’t real, too, because there were people AND mermaids AND mermen in the video together.

If you have somebody that says to you that mermaids aren’t real, you just have to show them this video and voila! they have to believe you because it’s right there on a video.

Leave a Reply

