Missy Barrett's Adventures

The amazing adventures of a fictional child

I Lost A Friend Today

on June 28, 2013

Today was a very sad day for me.

Sometimes grown-ups don’t believe that kids can get really, really sad but sometimes I do.  And sometimes, I don’t know what to do to make things better so I don’t have any answers when grown-ups ask me what makes things better.   If I knew what makes things better, I would make things better, don’t you think?

Anyway, today I found out that sometimes people say things they don’t mean, or they only mean it for a little while and then they don’t mean it anymore.

I had a friend that was my friend for a long time … ever since kindergarten.  She wasn’t my best friend because every friend you make can’t be your best friend.   Sometimes a friend can get to be a best friend, but that doesn’t happen too many times I don’t think.  So far, it only happened to me one time.  I think it only happened to Josh and Aaron one time, too.

But what happened today with the friend that’s not my friend anymore has me mixed up.

When we were playing at her place, some of her other friends came over.  I didn’t know them, but that was okay because it’s good to meet new people sometimes.  But they didn’t want to meet me, and they said mean things about me right to my face.  And then one of them said to my friend that’s not my friend anymore, “I don’t know why your mom makes you play with her.  She’s weird.”

Instead of saying that wasn’t a nice thing to say, my friend that’s not my friend anymore started laughing.  She thought it was a great big funny joke, but it wasn’t a joke to me at all.

Then my friend that’s not my friend anymore said, “She’s always weird. I only play with her because I don’t know why.  I hate her.”  And then all the girls were laughing and making fun of me.

I wanted to run away and hide but I couldn’t.  I was like a frozen statue, and then my friend that’s not my friend’s mom came out of the house to the backyard and asked what was going on.  I couldn’t talk but even if I could, I think she would believe my friend that’s not my friend instead of believing me.   My friend that’s not my friend any more told her mom that I was saying bad things to all of them, and her mom told me I should go home.

She said, “You have to go home now, Missy.”

That’s all she said and then she went back inside.

So I left my friend that’s not my friend’s house and ran all the way home, and up the stairs to my bedroom.  I think I cried all the way home, but I’m not sure.  I was so hurt inside my heart that all I wanted to do was make myself so small that nobody could see me ever again.  I didn’t even want my mom to ever see me again because of the mean things the girls said.

But my mom came in my room because she figured out I wasn’t really me.  We talked about what happened and my mom told me that sometimes people do things to you that you would never do to them, even if you were really mad at them for a good reason.  She told me that sometimes you have to walk away from people that used to be friends, but especially when they start being mean to you for no reason at all.

Then she gave me a really big hug, and told me that she wished she knew how to make me feel better.  I wish she knew how to make me feel better, too.  At least she didn’t tell me I’m going to get over it, and get another friend that’s even better than the friend that used to be my friend.

Anyway, that’s why I’m sad.  I’m sad because I lost a friend today.

Leave a Reply

