Missy Barrett's Adventures

The amazing adventures of a fictional child

Make Believing At Stores

on May 31, 2013

Today my mom went to the big store where you get wood furniture and washing machines and televisions and shoes and stuff like that.  I had to go with her to make sure she didn’t get lost in such a big store, and to make sure she wouldn’t get lost, I made her wear the same color shirt as me.  We have lots of same colored shirts so it wasn’t so hard to find one that was just right for her and just right for me.

So we went to the big store and there were lots and lots and lots of people, but that’s okay.  If the store was not so busy I would think maybe people don’t like shopping there and then I would have to solve the mystery of why not so many people like shopping there.  Today was not a good mystery day so it was a good thing that the mystery wasn’t at the big store today.

My mom and me, we found a nice man with a funny blue shirt on over his other shirt.  My mom asked him to help her pick out a new desk.  She wants to get a really good studying desk for Josh because pretty soon he’s going to be in the college school just like Aaron, and she said that it was time for Josh to get a more better desk.  But you know what?  When my mom goes shopping for some things, she just gets to talking and talking and talking and no shopping gets done.  That bugs me when that happens.  It bugs me a whole lot.

But then I saw something very interesting so I went over to investigate.  It was a great big wooden pantry like mom already has in the kitchen except this one I think was not for kitchens.  When you open the front doors, there was a long bar at the top and no shelves inside, so that’s why I think it was not for kitchens.  It was so big inside and then I wondered if it got really dark inside when you close the doors.  So I stepped on the inside bottom shelf and shut the doors.

I was not so happy to find out that it wasn’t dark inside.  I could see light coming in around the sides of the doors and where the doors opened.  I could even peek through the crack and see people walking around, but they couldn’t see me.  I watched people for a long, long time and then I saw my mom walking very fast in the store and the man in the blue shirt over his other shirt was walking fast, too.  My mom looked worried so I’m thinking that maybe she couldn’t find the right desk for Josh and it made her sad.

When she walked close to the pantry with no shelves, I opened the door and said, “Wow! I just got back from Narnia.  That sure was a lot of fun!”

I’m not too sure what happened after that because when we got home, I had to go to my room for a time out consequence.  But I’m not too worried about that because my mom said she’d be right up as soon as she calmed down.  I didn’t even know she was excited so maybe she did find a new desk for Josh and when she comes upstairs, she’ll tell me all about what it looks like.  I can hardly wait to find out what kind of desk it is!

Leave a Reply

