Missy Barrett's Adventures

The amazing adventures of a fictional child

Systems Against Siblings

on March 7, 2013

Remember last week when I told you guys about what was happening with the new Xboxes?  I couldn’t believe my own ears when I heard that report on the TV news last week.

But you know what else I found out when I told Aaron about the new Xbox?  He told me that something like happened to one of his friends but it was on the Wii instead of an Xbox!!!  I couldn’t believe my own ears again, so I asked him why not.

Know what he said to me?  He said, “The company has copy protection on their games and it ties their license data to the Wii the games were played on originally.  That means the new Wii systems won’t access the old games.”

So I said to him, “Why not just go to the Wii store where he bought those games and download them again to the new Wii.  They can just look at the account and say, ‘Hey, he already got these games so we can let him put them on his new Wii.'”

But Aaron said that wouldn’t work because they won’t do that.  So I asked him why not.

“The Wii shop accounts are set up so the games downloaded to the first Wii can’t be transferred to the new Wii,” he told me.

Well, that’s just crazy talk, don’t you think?  If somebody has an account with Nintendo and they already bought and downloaded games to one Wii and then they buy a new Wii and transfer games over except for some, you should be able to download the ones that don’t transfer over as long as you can prove you already downloaded them before on the old Wii.  I mean, over at the Wii store, there’s gotta be a record that the person already bought those games, and you know, when the cable people can tell how many computers are hooked up at a house, I’m pretty sure the Wii store can figure out if someone’s lying about having those games on a Wii that isn’t online anymore.

That’s what I think, anyway.

I think I’m going to ask my mom if I can talk to her friend that knows about the law to see what he thinks about all this stuff.  If you buy something, shouldn’t you be able to use it as long as you keep it?  And if it’s a family kind of thing, like the Xbox is in our house, it’s not fair to discriminate against brothers and sisters that share games and stuff like that.  That’s what I think because that whole idea of not letting you play games you already got isn’t fair!  No, it’s not!

Leave a Reply

